× art.co.za artists exhibitions training blog

Art Exhibitions

Legitimate Expectations

Opening: 21 November 2018 at 18:00

An exhibition of five women photographers from the Zimbabwe Association of Female Photographers (ZAFP). In this exhibition, the photographers interrogate the notion of ‘Legitimate Expectations’, contrasting the two weeks of elation during the 2017 de facto coup and the inauguration of a new President, against the ongoing legacy of the previous administration.
Investigating the rise of General Constantino Chiwenga and President Emmerson Dambudzo Mnangagwa,  ‘Legitimate Expectations’ questions the ability of Zimbabwe to move forward despite the atrocities of the past. Presenting the work of photographers born after Zimbabwe’s independence, the exhibition attempts to contradict General Chiwenga’s statement made before the coup, “the history of our revolution cannot be rewritten by those who have not been part of it.” On the contrary, this exhibition suggests that there is an urgent need to revisit history and recognise the past as a way of mapping the future for the younger generation of Zimbabweans hoping to carve out a more inclusive national narrative.
Angela Jimu, Annie Mpalume, Cynthia Matonhodze, Davina Jogi and Kresiah Mukwazhi are all graduates and alumni of the Market Photo Workshop in Johannesburg and members of the Zimbabwe Association of Female Photographers.
This project is supported by an ANT Mobility Grant from Pro Helvetia Johannesburg financed by the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC).

Participating: Angela Jimu, Annie Mpalume, Cynthia Matonhodze, Davina Jogi and Kresiah Mukwazhi 


Address: 2 President Str Newtown (entrance Bus Factory)
Tel: +27 (0) 11 834 1444
Gallery Hours: Monday - Saturday: 9:00 - 17:00. Sunday: 10:00 - 16:00.


The Cat Show

Participating: Roger Ballen, Lynda Ballen, Natasha Brown, Katherine Bull, Fanie Buys, Elize de Beer, Lucie de Moyencourt, Bevan de Wet, Kaelik Dullart, Brett Eloff, Dan Feinberg, Richard Forbes, Heidi Fourie, Gordon Froud, Ivy Grobler, Sarah Hunkin, Mandie Immelman, Elrie Joubert, Roxy Kaczmarek, Andrew Kayser, William Kentridge, Banele Khoza, Britt Lawton, Kim-Lee Loggenberg, Maja Maljevic, Rhett Martyn, Colbert Mashile, Wayne Matthews, Bronwyn Millar, Martin Motha, Noma Ngwenya, Alison Shaw, Hannah Shone, Nathaniel Sheppard, Jonathan Silverman, Johan Louw Stegmann, Richardt Strydom, Nina Torr, Gabrielle Van Der Merwe, Lanita van Niekerk, Anja Venter, Diane Victor, Mary Wafer, Peter Wernberg, Zhi Zulu

Opening: Saturday 1 December 2018 at 11:00 - 14:00

View details...